Maybe Gaiman is right.

20 Jan
I know what you’re thinking. Who is this Gaiman, and what right does he have to claim that all people are magnificently interesting?
Well actually, he’s the guy that’s fucking Amanda Fucking Palmer.
Another curious fact I stumbled upon when researching Neil Gaiman is that he’s some kind of omnipotent figure in Tori Amos lyrics. For example:
  • Tear in Your Hand: “If you need me, me and Neil’ll be hangin’ out with the dream king. Neil says hi by the way.”
  • Space Dog: “Where’s Neil when you need him?”
  • Carbon: “Get me Neil on the line, no I can’t hold. Have him read, ‘Snow, Glass, Apples’ where nothing is what it seems.”
  • Not Dying Today: “Neil is thrilled he can claim he’s mammalian, ‘but the bad news,’ he said, ‘girl you’re a dandelion’.
  • Horses: “But will you find me if Neil makes me a tree?”
Oh, so, with regards to the “if Neil makes me a tree” thing – turns out in Gaiman’s book, Stardust, Tori Amos appears as a talking tree.
Now that’s what I call intertexual intercourse.
It strikes me that perhaps the hundreds or thousands of stupid, amazing worlds Gaiman refers to are not in his imagination at all, but are simply the parallel existences he inhabits daily as a sci-fi/fantasy author, graphic novelist, blogger, screenwriter, journalist, fiance, father, godfather and close friend to the stars. Amongst other things, of course.
Leave a Reply

