Sabrina.

27 Jan
On the topic of romance, since it seems I’m never far off it, is this from Billy Wilder’s Sabrina (1954).
Audrey Hepburn: All night long I’ve had the most terrible impulse to do something.
Humphrey Bogart: Oh never resist an impulse, Sabrina. Especially if it’s terrible.
Audrey Hepburn: I’m going to do it!

… And then she fucks with his hat.

I’ve never understood the obsession with Audrey Hepburn. I’m pretty sure every girl I have ever dated had a debilitating ladycrush on her. That’s not to mention that a couple of them went so far as to emulate her personal style (not in itself a bad thing).

To me she’s always seemed like a brat. Not the clever sort of brat I find endearing. But a talentless, needy and manipulative brat. It turns out I was at least halfway correct.

Humphrey Bogart is said to have resented working with the woman. “It’s okay, if you don’t mind to make 20 takes,” he once said.

Nevertheless, during the making of Sabrina, Hepburn managed to woo her other male co-star, William Holden, into some kind of a relationship. It was a sweet and charming relationship, until the moment she discovered he was unable to have children, when she dumped his sorry ass. Yet more concrete evidence to justify my undying contempt.

2 Responses to “Sabrina.”

  1. Aimee January 28, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Bratty women get the guys. Nice girls fail to excite or engage anyone.

    • jonoaidney January 28, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      I’m sticking to my ‘two types of brat’ theory. It’s true that there’s nothing more sure to break your heart than a clever, sexy brat. But a brat without beauty and brains is more like an unpleasant rash.

Leave a Reply

