Now you’re just getting silly.

18 Aug

I don’t know about you, but I like to think of my bank as horrendously dull. Just a guy sitting at a counter wearing a tie and shiny shoes (which I never have to see), who makes sure nobody gets any funny ideas about my money.

The internet – on the other hand – is a ridiculous place. It’s an international destination where entertainment is the only real currency. Naturally, this results in a very specific strain of humour generally agreed to be acceptable to the ruling class (a pack of nerds). It may be weird, but it’s what we citizens of cyberspace demand…

… of each other.

God forbid my bank start talking to me like a 13-year-old boy in the throes of a life-threatening acne attack. I don’t care if you’re advertising on Facebook, on the television, or in the newsletter of a rest home, your time-honoured, strategically-crafted, unique and beautiful tone of voice is a precious, delicate thing.

And sure, it should be flexible. But personality shifts like this one ought to be reserved for stroke victims.

I hate to ruin your fun, ASB, but I don’t give a crap about some stupid stock photo of a dog. Just show me the money.

May I officially declare: WTF?

Leave a Reply

