The worst brief I ever received.

23 Aug

The worst brief I ever received was to create a viral video.

It was when viral videos were all the rage in marketing presentations. Imagine spending only $10k in return for hundreds of thousands of dollars in free media, not to mention word of mouth!

I spent an afternoon searching YouTube for videos created by advertisers – perfectly well-produced and entertaining videos – that hadn’t even cracked 1,000 views. There were a tonne of them. I shared my findings and we decided it might be best to make a web banner with our client’s embarrassingly small budget.

If only I’d had these arguments up my sleeve that day. I especially agree about ‘seeding spend’. It’s an easy cost to overlook, but in many ways it’s even more important than the production budget.

Leave a Reply

