Maori legends on your mobile.

11 Oct

I thought this iPhone App for New Zealand legends was a really neat idea. It’s been two decades since I was last exposed to traditional Maori stories at Kōhanga Reo. Back then, picture books were about as immersive as you could get. I loved the tale of Maui fishing up New Zealand’s North Island, and the one where he slows the sun to create day and night. That Maui was a pretty awesome dude.

But picture books are a bit retro now. By bringing them to a modern medium these old myths suddenly feel exciting and relevant again. If I was a young kid today, with an iPad in the family, I would be all over this shit. I would love to see this App developed further, and illustrated, even animated.

One Response to “Maori legends on your mobile.”

  1. Robbie October 11, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Dude, I’m going to be all over that shit. I remember those very Maui books, they were awesome!

Leave a Reply

