Take something good and make it slightly worse. Actually, don’t do that.

12 Oct


Kind of interesting web film out of Brazil today entitled Good Morning, Good Afternoon, Good Night. Top 6 TV this week on BestAds.

I’m going to be a jerk and call them on the direct rip from my favourite existential flash game, Every Day The Same Dream. Music and all.

And where the computer game is immersive, interactive, stunningly mysterious, poignant and infused with a subtle sense of self-loathing, this new film (made to promote a contemporary arts festival) is just relentlessly over-styled, which is the worst thing about South American advertising. Without being personally invested in the characters (as we are when playing the game) the awful bleakness is all-consuming. I feel like I just drank a gallon of bleak.

Don’t get me wrong. I see what they’re attempting to do – we’re supposed to think of it less as a piece of direct communication and more as a piece of art. But it’s hard to not take it personally when the festival I am being encouraged to attend is offered in the pay-off as the solution to a monotonous existence.

My monotonous existence? Get out of here.

Conclusion: Fuck you, you just ruined the most ingenious flash game of all time.

Edit: Thanks for the Vimeo link Sarah!

2 Responses to “Take something good and make it slightly worse. Actually, don’t do that.”

  1. Aimee October 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    I’m at work, driving my little man off a cliff. Meta.

    • jonoaidney October 14, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      I know how you feel.

Leave a Reply

